Illinois Judicial Council and Illinois Judicial Council Foundation, Inc. Resolution

Regarding

Judge Marilyn Florence Johnson

WHEREAS, GOD, in His infinite wisdom has called home our beloved colleague, JUDGE MARILYN FLORENCE JOHNSON; and

WHEREAS, the ILLINIOS JUDICIAL COUNCIL and ILLINOIS JUDICIAL COUNCIL FOUNDATION, INC. jointly adopt this resolution in honor of JUDGE MARILYN FLORENCE JOHNSON. The ILLINOIS JUDICAL COUNCIL FOUNDATION, INC. is the charitable arm of the Illinois Judicial Council, an organization founded in 1983 by a small group of African American judges with the stated mission of enhancing the image of the judiciary and improving the quality of life in the community through educational enlightenment as to the manner in which the legal process serves the community; and

WHEREAS, the mission of the ILLINOIS JUDICIAL COUNCIL FOUNDATION, INC., founded in 1999, is to provide the necessary financial resources to the Illinois Judicial Council in furtherance of its philanthropic, educational and community-based activities for law students, particularly those interested in social justice and equity issues; and

WHEREAS, JUDGE MARILYN FLORENCE JOHNSON received her undergraduate degree from the University of Chicago in 1976 and her Juris Doctorate from the University of Illinois College of Law in 1979; and

WHEREAS, since her entry upon the practice of law in 1979, she had a storied and diverse legal career, including service as a Legal Aid Foundation staff attorney; Deputy Corporation Counsel for the City of Chicago Law Department under former Mayor, Harold Washington; General Counsel for the Chicago Housing Authority; General Counsel for the Chicago Board of Education; and Chief of Staff at the Illinois Toll Highway Authority; and

Page 2 Resolution for Judge Johnson June 29, 2022

WHEREAS, in 2006, she was appointed as a Judge of the Circuit Court of Cook County, Illinois and was later elected countywide in 2008 to serve in that position which she continued to do until her retirement in 2015; and

WHEREAS, JUDGE MARILYN FLORENCE JOHNSON was assigned to the Child Protection Division of Juvenile Court, where she presided over trials and hearings regarding abused and neglected children and termination of parental rights, earning a reputation for being fair, thoughtful and well- informed; and

WHEREAS, through her training and mentorship, JUDGE MARILYN FLORENCE JOHNSON, served as a role model to younger lawyers and judges; and

WHEREAS, JUDGE MARILYN FLORENCE JOHNSON was the recipient of many awards, including, but not limited to, the prestigious Earl B. Dickerson Award from the Chicago Bar Association, the President's Award from the Illinois Judicial Council, the Trailblazer Award from Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, and the Distinguished Alumnae Award from the University of Illinois School of Law; and

WHEREAS, JUDGE MARILYN FLORENCE JOHNSON was an active member of the ILLINOIS JUDICIAL COUNCIL and she served as the Chairperson of the ILLINOIS JUDICIAL COUNCIL FOUNDATION, INC., from October, 2021 to the time of her death;

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the memory of JUDGE MARILYN FLORENCE JOHNSON be forever revered and kept alive by her colleagues of the Bench and Bar, including the members of the ILLINOIS JUDICIAL COUNCIL and the ILLINOIS JUDICIAL COUNCIL FOUNDATION, INC; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a copy of this resolution shall be presented to her family and that this resolution shall be forever maintained in the files of the ILLINOIS JUDICIAL COUNCIL and the ILLINOIS JUDICIAL COUNCIL FOUNDATION, INC. to commemorate her service, professionalism, and indomitable spirit.

She fought the good fight, she kept the faith, she finished the course. Our prayers go out to her family and loved ones. So while she is asleep and her voice is still, her spirit goes on through our words and deeds.

Page 3 Resolution for Judge Johnson June 29, 2022

Done this 29th day of June, in the year of our Lord, Two Thousand Twenty-Two.

Hon. Drella C. Savage, (retired) Chairperson, Illinois Judicial Council Foundation

Hon. Sidney A. Jones, III, (retired), Secretary, Illinois Judicial Council Foundation

Hon. Bonita Coleman, President, Illinois Judicial Council

Hon. H. Yvonne Coleman, Secretary, Illinois Judicial Council